Governing Councils

Governing councils

In 1987, Bishop Ted Collins established the Catholic Education Council (CEC) of the Northern Territory to advise him on matters of policy pertaining to Catholic education in the diocese.

The Council consists of twelve members appointed by the Bishop to ensure that points of view are heard from a wide geographical, community and church perspective. Current appointments include school principals, school board members, parents and people from the wider community.

The Director of Catholic Education is the executive officer of Council. The Council Executive (the Chair, Deputy Chair, the Vicar General and the Director of Catholic Education) manage the business of The Council between formal meetings.
The Council meets once a term.

The work of Council is also facilitated by the following Standing Committees:

  • Catholic Identity
  • Teaching and Learning
  • Leadership
  • Community and Culture
  • Pastoral Care and Wellbeing
  • Finances, Facilities and Resources

The Chair can be contacted through the Catholic Education Office:

Phone +61 8 8984 1400

Fax +61 8 8984 1444