Teacher Accreditation

All Catholic teachers in the Northern Territory are required to complete accreditation for each year of their appointment. This accreditation ensures that teachers in Catholic schools are provided with suitable professional development so as to understand current church teachings in key areas, and encourage active teacher support for the Catholic ethos of the school.

There are two levels of accreditation:

Accreditation A

All teachers in Catholic schools are required to complete a minimum of six hours professional development for Accreditation A each year. This professional development revisits areas of the Catholic tradition, including the sacraments, scripture, moral theology, social justices, prayer and liturgy.

Accreditation B

Teachers of Religious Education are required to obtain Accreditation B within two years of appointment. Beginning teachers are required to obtain Accreditation B within three years of appointment.

Accreditation B requires teachers to successfully complete four units of study covering Religious Education and Theology at university level, equivalent to the Graduate Certificate in Religious Education offered at the Australian Catholic University. These units must be consistent with Catholic teachings.