The Diocese of Darwin

The Catholic Diocese of Darwin is diverse and geographically vast, covering 1,350,000 square kilometres.

We enjoy the vibrancy of over 80 cultures, each contributing to a fascinating tapestry of faith and tradition. The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, the first Australians, figure largely in our Diocese, with 26.8 percent of our Catholic population Indigenous to Australia.

Our 18 parishes form the centre of our Catholic life. Our diocesan community is enriched through our Catholic Education system, with 18 schools offering high-quality education to pre-primary, primary and secondary students. Trained catechists, often volunteers, offer religious education in parishes and government schools.

CatholicCare NT, a welfare agency of the Catholic Church, offers family and children's counseling and education, drug and alcohol programs and employment services.

The St Vincent de Paul Society, working through its parish conferences, offers support to a large number of individuals and families. It also works in the area of low-cost accommodation, outreach services, St Vinnie's centres, and mobile food vans.

Together we form a vibrant diocesan community, working across parishes, religious communities, organisations and charities, to bring to life the message of Jesus throughout the Northern Territory.