Primary Years

Primary Education in the Northern Territory begins in Transition and finishes at the end of Year Six.

Middle Years Education is from Years 7-9. However, in order to support the smoother transition between levels of schooling and provide more focused age-appropriate pedagogical support, the Catholic Education Office Northern Territory focuses on:

  • Transition to Year 2: Early Years of Primary Learning
  • Years 3-4: Primary Years of Learning
  • Years 5–9: Middle Years of Learning

The Curriculum covered in the Northern Territory Catholic Primary and Middle schools consists of the Australian Curriculum (AC) and Journey in Faith (our Religious Education Curriculum). Schools teach, assess and report on the curriculum consistent with the NT Board of Studies Policy, Australian Curriculum and Journey in Faith.